Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Subject: Literary Fiction

Featured Literary Fiction Titles

Adios Muchachos

By:

More Cuban noir from Akashic! (Following the success of Outcast by José Latour—nominated for Edgar, Anthony and Firecracker awards.)

The Age of Dreaming

By:

The Age of Dreaming explores the history of Los Angeles, the heady beginnings of the movie industry, and the interplay of race and celebrity.

Alice Fantastic

By:

Estep’s best novel to date explores with deep wit and insight how a shocking family secret impacts the lives of an eccentric mother and her two daughters.

Andean Express

By:

Bolivia’s preeminent fiction writer eclipses the successful English translation of American Visa with a riveting murder mystery. Translated by Adrian Althoff.

The Angels’ Share

By:

A Jamaican father and his adult son travel across the island together in a touching and humorous novel that explores family reconciliation.

The Anger Meridian

By:

Following her husband’s suspicious death, Merryn Huntley flees with her daughter to Mexico, where she discovers she can’t outrun self-deception.

Better

By:

A riveting and sexually charged posthumous novel from the author of Leaving Las Vegas.

Bicycle

By:

The latest release from Hotel St. George Press, following The Session and The Musical Illusionist.

Black Lotus

By:

Finding the Black Lotus murderer is Detective Wolf’s chance to avoid an Internal Affairs investigation. That’s when things get personal.

The Boy Detective Fails

By:

Following the best seller Hairstyles of the Damned (more than 100,000 copies sold) with a spectacular coming-of-age-30 tale, Joe Meno proves once again why he’s the hottest indie author in America. Also check out Office Girl, Demons in the Spring, How the Hula Girl Sings, and Tender as Hellfire.

Download:

Boy Genius

By:

Selected for the 2002 Kiriyama Prize Notable Books List & selected as a finalist for an Asian American Literary Award.

Caught Up

By:

Author of the mega–best seller B-More Careful (350,000 sales) is back with an irresistible hard-boiled crime story.

Cityside

By:

Once one of New York’s most respected investigative reporters, Pulitzer Prize nominee Heffernan takes readers behind the scenes at a major New York newspaper.

The Cocaine Chronicles

Edited by: and

The best fiction anthology of cocaine-themed tales to blow through in years, featuring all-new stories from Susan Straight, Lee Child, Jerry Stahl, Ken Bruen, Laura Lippman, Bill Moody, Nina Revoyr, and many more.

Curse the Names

By:

Robert Arellano, author of the Edgar-nominated crime novel Havana Lunar, returns with another spine-tingling noir from Akashic Books.

Devil’s Midnight

By:

Kapralov depicts the desperate struggles of his characters—Yuri’s stubborn military resistance, Nata’s fanatical commitment to guard the mysterious powers of a sacred meteorite, and Alexey’s struggles simply to survive—with a perfect balance of intensity and nonchalance.

Dog War

By:

The highly anticipated new novel and debut US publication from the legendary Jamaican author of The Lunatic and The Duppy.

Don Dimaio of La Plata

By:

Celebrating the 400th anniversary of the modern novel, Akashic Books publishes a Don Quixote for the era of graft: racketeering politicians, stolen elections, and total-bullshit recalls!

The Duppy

By:

Oddball sexuality, acts of perversion, and out-of-order behavior from the acclaimed Jamaican author of The Lunatic and Dog War.

How funny is this social satire? Akashic Books’s pledge to our readers: Laugh out loud at least once or your money back. Seriously.

The Failure

By:

California Book Award–winner Greer presents a hilarious and immaculately written story set in LA, exploring the inevitability of failure.

Firewater

By:

Life is teetering on the edge of the apocalypse in and around the tiny Washington State coastal community that occupies the center of Firewater, a posthumously released, brutally funny environmental suspense novel.

Game World

By:

Launching Akashic’s new Black Sheep YA imprint, an adventure novel in a video game turned reality, with giant spiders, malevolent hummingbirds, a not-quite-yellow-brick road, and preteen children learning how to be heroes!

Download:

Grab Bag

By:

Cult novelist Dennis Cooper launches the third title of Little House on the Bowery, the Akashic series he is editing and promoting.

Hell’s Kitchen

By:

Armstead Maupin meets Carl Hiaasen in a brilliant black comedy that traces the paths of disparate characters floating through New York, about to collide in a treacherous story that will make you think twice about ever answering a classified ad.

The Heroin Chronicles

Edited by:

The latest entry in the Akashic Drug Chronicles Series. Heroin has long been understood as the most “literary” of narcotics, and this collection will, for better and worse, have tremendous pop cultural appeal.

Hidden Place

By:

Shiflett’s suspenseful and provocative literary debut, set in Chicago and Puerto Escondido, a small Mexican beach town 150 miles south of Acapulco.

How the Hula Girl Sings

By:

Paperback reissue of the second novel from the author of the smash hits Hairstyles of the Damned, Tender as Hellfire, and The Boy Detective Fails

Jonah Sees Ghosts

By:

Jonah Sees Ghosts is a shocking, touching, and humorous first novel that blends magical realism with a figurative study of how alcohol abuse shapes the personalities within a family.

Kamikaze Lust

By:

Kamikaze Lust takes the reader on an electrifying ride through the spectacle of life and death in millennial America.

Las Cucarachas

By:

Award-winning author Yongsoo Park presents a powerful coming-of-age story of a young boy on the edges of New York City.

Like Son

By:

A post-punk story of outsiders, family, inherited drama, and love set in downtown New York, Los Angeles, and Mexico City.

Limbo

By:

An African American man confronts a heart of darkness when his family moves from Los Angeles to a small town in Norway.

Little Beasts

By:

In this evocative debut, the accidental murder of an eight-year-old forces a working-class community to face its demons.

Lost Canyon

By:

In Revoyr’s most thrilling novel to date, four backpackers embark on a trip in the Sierra Nevada that quickly becomes a disaster.

Love Maps

By:

Violence and loss shatter Sarah Marker’s domestic life, causing her to reexamine the roots of creativity and art in New York City.

Loving Donovan

By:

A long-awaited reissue of this deeply thoughtful novel about hope, forgiveness, and the cost of loving Donovan, a complex man with a shattered history.

Makeda

By:

The debut title from Akashic’s Open Lens imprint: a universal tale of family, heritage, and the ties that bind, from the nationally best-selling author Randall Robinson.

Marvel and a Wonder

By:

Grandfather and grandson must journey into the underworld of the American Midwest in search of both courage and redemption.

Click here to read an excerpt from the novel.

The Names of Rivers

By:

A tightly crafted search for redemption and forgiveness within the shadows of a family’s military past, by the author of Water in Darkness.

Native Believer

By:

The long-awaited debut novel from acclaimed author Eteraz; a darkly comic, provocative, and insightful vision of the contemporary American experience.

Office Girl

By:

Best-selling novelist Joe Meno is back with a fantastic new novel about two young people and a visionary, doomed art movement.

Download:

On the Way Back

By:

Kobbé’s hilarious social novel centers on a comically failed business venture on the island of Anguilla, brilliantly echoing A Confederacy of Dunces and Herman Wouk’s Don’t Stop the Carnival.

Ruins

By:

A true believer is faced with a choice between love for his family and the Cuban Revolution.

The Shark Curtain

By:

In Scofield’s powerful debut, teenager Lily Asher takes her first steps toward a strange, loving journey to self-acceptance and belonging.

The Show that Smells

By:

Derek McCormack’s most compelling work yet is his second selection in Dennis Cooper’s groundbreaking Little House on the Bowery fiction series.

Some of the Parts

By:

The novel that’s changing the way we define “family.” The Osbournes, Sopranos, and Eminem are only “some of the parts” that make up the whole story of the new American family.

South Haven

By:

Grief, violence, and history collide to offer a radical look at childhood and migration in suburban New England.

Swing

By:

An erotic drama about four sexy couples and one swingers’ club where their fantasies and nightmares collide.

Synthetic Bi Products

By:

Sparrow L. Patterson’s debut novel follows a nineteen-year-old bisexual girl on her whirlwind journey of sexual escapades, drug-induced hallucinations, shoplifting sprees, and other criminal behavior.

Tales

By:

This reissue of a 1967 story collection shows a mind in motion, featuring writing that is provocative, witty, bitter, and aggressive.

Tehran at Twilight

By:

Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.

Tender as Hellfire

By:

Paperback reissue of the debut novel by the author of the best sellers The Boy Detective Fails, How the Hula Girl Sings and Hairstyles of the Damned (more than 70,000 copies sold).

Download:

Victims

By:

Based on extensive research into the rhetoric of religious cults, Victims is a novel about the final days of a religious cult called The Overcomers.

The Warmest December

By:

The long-awaited reissue of McFadden’s best-selling second novel praised by Toni Morrison, USA Today, Washington Post, and others—published simultaneously with McFadden’s new novel Gathering of Waters.

Download:

We Are All Crew

By:

A satirical adventure story featuring two young teens, in the style of Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea.

Wide Eyed

By:

Part of Dennis Cooper’s Little House on the Bowery series, this collection of stories is told by a woman compelled to divulge her secrets, fantasies, and obsessions.

Wingshooters

By:

Revoyr’s novel examines the effects of change on a small, isolated town, the strengths and limits of community, and the sometimes conflicting loyalties of family and justice.

You Must Be This Happy to Enter

By:

Denial, God, dystopia, academic, and reality TV collide in acclaimed author Crane’s third story collection from Punk Planet Books, the imprint that launched indie smash hit Hairstyles of the Damned by Joe Meno.

Forthcoming Titles

Necropolis

By:

Forthcoming: 6/7/16

A gorgeously written and tightly plotted mystery novel that brings the city of Delhi alive, in ways both enchanting and provocative.

Strays

By:

Forthcoming: 8/16/16

Book II in The Primal Age Chronicles will leave you questioning everything you know about surviving in the modern world.

The Painted Gun

By:

Forthcoming: 3/7/17

A washed-up ex-journalist looking for a missing girl in San Francisco is framed by a Guatemalan hit man for a series of murders.