Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Catalog » Browse by Title: P » The Perfume Burned His Eyes—Signed Preorder with Limited Edition Hardcover ZOPA WORDS

The Perfume Burned His Eyes—Signed Preorder with Limited Edition Hardcover ZOPA WORDS

By: and

This LIMITED EDITION PREORDER PACKAGE for the forthcoming paperback edition of Michael Imperioli’s novel The Perfume Burned His Eyes includes a signed book and the limited edition signed hardcover ZOPA WORDS, by Imperioli and his bandmates Elijah Amitin and Olmo Tighe of ZOPA.

THIS PAGE IS FOR THE LIMITED EDITION PREORDER PACKAGE OF THE PERFUME BURNED HIS EYES. Click [HERE] for details on the regular edition of the book.

Forthcoming: 12/6/22

Price: $75.00

Description

THIS PAGE IS FOR THE LIMITED EDITION PREORDER PACKAGE OF THE PERFUME BURNED HIS EYES, WHICH INCLUDES A SIGNED COPY OF THE PAPERBACK AND THE HARDCOVER ZOPA WORDS. Click [HERE] for details on the regular edition of the book.

The limited edition preorder package includes:

–A SIGNED paperback copy of The Perfume Burned His Eyes by Michael Imperioli
–A copy of the limited edition, full color hardcover ZOPA WORDS, by Imperioli and his bandmates Elijah Amitin and Olmo Tighe. Their three-piece New York indie rock band is ZOPA, which means “patience” in Tibetan, and ZOPA WORDS is their debut publication, featuring a short band history by Imperioli, lyrics to their songs, and photographs by Mira Kaplan, Richard Sottosanti, and Lauren Krohn. Signed by all three bandmates, ZOPA WORDS is a perfect gift for fans of Imperioli and ZOPA.

ABOUT The Perfume Burned His Eyes

Matthew is a sixteen-year-old boy living in Jackson Heights, Queens, in 1976. After he loses his two most important male role models, his father and grandfather, his mother uses her inheritance to uproot Matthew and herself to a posh apartment building in Manhattan. Although only three miles away from his boyhood home, “the city” is a completely new and strange world to Matthew.

Matthew soon befriends (and becomes a factotum of sorts to) Lou Reed, who lives with his transgender girlfriend Rachel in the same building. The artistic-shamanic rocker eventually becomes an unorthodox father figure to Matthew, who finds himself head over heels for the mysterious Veronica, a wise-beyond-her-years girl he meets at his new school.

The novel is written from the point of view of Matthew at age eighteen, two years after the story begins, and concludes with an epilogue in the year 2013, three days after Lou Reed’s death, with Matthew in his fifties.


Book Details

  • Paperback
  • Published: 12/6/22
  • IBSN: 9781636141121

Authors

Michael Imperioli is best known for his starring role as Christopher Moltisanti in the acclaimed TV series The Sopranos—which earned him a Best Supporting Actor Emmy Award—and plays a lead role on season two of HBO’s The White Lotus. He wrote five episodes of The Sopranos; was coscreenwriter of the film Summer of Sam, directed by Spike Lee; and was anthologized in The Nicotine Chronicles, edited by Lee Child. Imperioli has appeared in six of Spike Lee’s films and has also acted in films by Martin Scorsese, Abel Ferrara, Walter Hill, Peter Jackson, and the Hughes Brothers. He cohosted the rewatch podcast Talking Sopranos with his Sopranos costar Steve Schirripa, with whom he also penned the best-selling book Woke Up This Morning: The Definitive Oral History of The Sopranos. Additionally, Imperioli is a singer and guitarist in the band ZOPA. Follow him on Instagram: @realmichaelimperioli.

More info »

ZOPA is Elijah Amitin, Michael Imperioli, and Olmo Tighe. The three-part New York indie-rock band is ZOPA, which means “patience” in Tibetan.

More info »