Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Catalog » Browse by Title: R » Rain Breaks No Bones

Rain Breaks No Bones


Set in 1955, this final installment in Taylor’s best-selling Scranton Trilogy explores a family’s legacy of loss and a sometimes mystical vision of a better tomorrow

Order on Barnes & Noble
Order on Amazon

$18.95 $14.21

What people are saying…

“As I turned the final page, I wasn’t at all ready to say goodbye to these compassionately imagined, vividly drawn characters. In Rain Breaks No Bones, the shadow of guilt, shame, and anger haunts—sometimes literally—Taylor’s mid-twentieth-century Scranton, Pennsylvania. Here, as a stone cast in a river, events of the past continue to disrupt the present. Yet rising within her decent, troubled folks is the possibility of both courage and grace. Taylor delivers a powerhouse story of small-town life that resonates far beyond the time and place.”
—Laurie Loewenstein, author of Funeral Train



Fifty-year-old Violet has had a good life. The love of an honest man. The joys of motherhood. Yet, even in 1955, her heart still aches over the death of her sister more than four decades earlier. Lately, Violet can’t help thinking about the little girl, picturing her in the moments before the accident, wearing that pleated white dress and a hair bow to match. Maybe if her big sister were here now, she could tell Violet what to do about the secret she’s been keeping from her daughter Daisy.

Daisy has a secret of her own. When she first moved back home to Scranton, she wasn’t ready to give up her dreams of performing in Atlantic City. Then she met Johnny, a man who needs music as much as she does. Her first real chance at love. If only they can find the courage to buck small-town thinking when it comes to interracial dating.

Small-town thinking. Zethray had seen her fair share of it. That’s why she advertised a room to rent in The Negro Motorist Green Book. Give folks a safe place to stay away from home. That’s how Johnny ended up at her door. Now he’s sweet on some young woman. Not that he told Zethray, but she knows. The dead like to talk, and she listens. If only her mother would tell the secret behind her shocking death. Instead, she stands silent, while that little girl with the bow in her hair runs wild.

Rain Breaks No Bones is the final novel in Barbara J. Taylor’s Scranton Trilogy, starting with Sing in the Morning, Cry at Night, followed by All Waiting Is Long. Though the novels are connected, they each stand alone.

Book Details

  • Paperback: 376 pages
  • Published: 5/7/23
  • IBSN: 9781636141732
  • e-IBSN: 9781636141800


BARBARA J. TAYLOR was born and raised in Scranton, Pennsylvania. She sets her novels in the hometown she loves and fills them with miners, evangelists, vaudevillians, nuns, gangsters, prostitutes, widows, musicians, dreamers, and a seer or two. She is the author of Sing in the Morning, Cry at Night and All Waiting Is Long. Rain Breaks No Bones is the final installment in her Scranton Trilogy.

Author Events

More info »