Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Catalog » Browse by Author: B » Ed Bullins

Ed Bullins

ED BULLINS, one of the most prolific African American writers of his generation, has authored such works as In the Wine Time, Goin’ a Buffalo, Clara’s Ole Man, and The Taking of Miss Janie, which received the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best American Play of the 1974–75 season. He has also won multiple Obie Awards, Guggenheim fellowships, and playwriting grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, among other honors. Along with Amiri Baraka, Bullins is considered to be one of the key figures of the Black Arts movement. His book of short fiction, The Hungered One: Early Writings, was originally published in 1971.