Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Subject: Mysteries & Crime

Featured Mystery & Crime Titles

Adios Muchachos

By:

More Cuban noir from Akashic! (Following the success of Outcast by José Latour—nominated for Edgar, Anthony and Firecracker awards.)

Andean Express

By:

Bolivia’s preeminent fiction writer eclipses the successful English translation of American Visa with a riveting murder mystery. Translated by Adrian Althoff.

Baltimore Noir

Edited by:

Mystery queenpin Lippman and cohorts dissect the urban locale unaffectionately called Bulletmore, in the state of the Union ingloriously labeled Murderland.

Black Lotus

By:

Finding the Black Lotus murderer is Detective Wolf’s chance to avoid an Internal Affairs investigation. That’s when things get personal.

Boston Noir

Edited by:

Dennis Lehane steps up to the plate as editor and presents a scintillating collection of deep, dark fiction.

Boston Noir & Boston Noir 2: The Complete Set

Edited by:

Boston Noir & Boston Noir 2: The Complete Set combines all twenty-five stories from Lehane’s two Boston Noir volumes into a single digital edition.

**All orders placed directly from our website are for paperback editions of the books.**

Bronx Noir

Edited by:

Best-selling crime writer S.J. Rozan corrals a diverse crew of celebrated authors to highlight the dark magnificence of her native New York City borough.

Download:

Brooklyn Noir 2: The Classics

Edited by:

Brooklyn Noir is back with a vengeance, this time with the masters of yore: H.P. Lovecraft, Donald Westlake, Lawrence Block, Pete Hamill, Jonathan Lethem, Colson Whitehead, and more!

Buffalo Noir

Edited by: and

Joyce Carol Oates, Lawrence Block, and others present original stories from the dark side of New York’s second biggest city.

Cake

By:

The highly anticipated second title from Akashic’s groundbreaking street-lit imprint, The Armory, curated by author Kenji Jasper.

Caught Up

By:

Author of the mega–best seller B-More Careful (350,000 sales) is back with an irresistible hard-boiled crime story.

Chicago Noir

Edited by:

This isn’t someone’s dream of Chicago. It’s not even a nightmare. It’s just the real city, unfiltered. Chicago Noir.

Cityside

By:

Once one of New York’s most respected investigative reporters, Pulitzer Prize nominee Heffernan takes readers behind the scenes at a major New York newspaper.

The Cocaine Chronicles

Edited by: and

The best fiction anthology of cocaine-themed tales to blow through in years, featuring all-new stories from Susan Straight, Lee Child, Jerry Stahl, Ken Bruen, Laura Lippman, Bill Moody, Nina Revoyr, and many more.

Curse the Names

By:

Robert Arellano, author of the Edgar-nominated crime novel Havana Lunar, returns with another spine-tingling noir from Akashic Books.

Dallas Noir

Edited by:

Texas’s ultimate noir town, where nasty surprises lurk around every turn, reveals its unseemly underbelly.

DC Noir

Edited by:

Mystery sensation Pelecanos pens the lead story and edits this groundbreaking collection of stories detailing the seedy underside of the nation’s capital.

DC Noir 2: The Classics

Edited by:

Pelecanos assembles an enchanting array of dark and subversive stories, following up the best-selling first volume of DC Noir, this time selecting the very best of Washington’s historical literary legacy.

The Dead Detective

By:

Thirty-year-old homicide detective Harry Doyle—dubbed “The Dead Detective” by his fellow cops after he was murdered and revived at the age of ten—faces his most difficult case: a beautiful murder victim who was a notorious child molester.

Detroit Noir

Edited by: and

Motor City’s finest literary talents—including Oates, Estleman, Holden, and Parrish—offer a shadowed spectrum of gripping, haunted visions.

Got

By:

The first title from The Armory, a new high-quality urban noir imprint edited by Kenji Jasper.

Haiti Noir

Edited by:

Akashic recruits Danticat, one of the truly great contemporary writers, to edit this timely volume featuring stories set both before and after the devastating 2010 earthquake.

Havana Noir (Cuba)

Edited by:

In the stories of Havana Noir, authors uncover crimes of violence and loveless sex, of mental cruelty and greed, of self-preservation and collective hysteria, in a city characterized by ironic and wrenching contradictions.

Hell’s Kitchen

By:

Armstead Maupin meets Carl Hiaasen in a brilliant black comedy that traces the paths of disparate characters floating through New York, about to collide in a treacherous story that will make you think twice about ever answering a classified ad.

Helsinki Noir (Finland)

Edited by:

Helsinki Noir joins Copenhagen Noir in representing the Akashic Noir Series in the far north of Europe, exposing its frigid and sometimes frightening confines.

The Heroin Chronicles

Edited by:

The latest entry in the Akashic Drug Chronicles Series. Heroin has long been understood as the most “literary” of narcotics, and this collection will, for better and worse, have tremendous pop cultural appeal.

Indian Country Noir

Edited by: and

The sharpest, most stylized, and ambitious anthology of Native American literature ever published. Readers enter into a welter of troubled history throughout the Americans where the heritage of violence meets the ferocity of intent.

Kansas City Noir

Edited by:

Steve Paul recruits Daniel Woodrell, John Lutz, and others in Kansas City Noir, where naked ambition meets broken dreams, and blues and the night go together like rye whiskey, vermouth, and bitters.

Long Island Noir

Edited by:

Between these covers, Long Island emerges as a region far more complex and sinister than merely a playground for the rich and famous.

Los Angeles Noir

Edited by:

Los Angeles Noir brings you tales of crime and passion and betrayal from some of the most innovative and celebrated writers working today.

Lost Canyon

By:

In Revoyr’s most thrilling novel to date, four backpackers embark on a trip in the Sierra Nevada that quickly becomes a disaster.

Mumbai Noir (India)

Edited by:

Following the success of Delhi Noir and the film Slumdog Millionaire, Mumbai Noir depicts the many ways in which the city’s ever-present shadowy aspects often force themselves onto the lives of ordinary people.

New Jersey Noir

Edited by:

Jonathan Safran Foer and Robert Pinsky join Joyce Carol Oates and other illustrious writers to sift through the hidden dirt of the Garden State.

New Orleans Noir

Edited by:

Beneath the glitter of Mardi Gras lies the sleaze of Bourbon Street; under the celestial sounds of JazzFest, the nightmare screams of a city traumatized long before the storm.

Pittsburgh Noir

Edited by:

Pittsburgh Noir roars forth, exploring the hidden underworld of what has often been called “the most livable city in America.”

Providence Noir

Edited by:

Following the success of Dennis Lehane’s best-selling Boston Noir, the Akashic Noir Series delves deeper into the underbelly of New England.

Queens Noir

Edited by:

On the heels of Brooklyn, Manhattan, and the Bronx, the borough of Queens enters the chambers of noir in this riveting collection edited by defense attorney and acclaimed fiction writer Robert Knightly.

Download:

Rome Noir (Italy)

Edited by: and

Rome provides a fertile setting for this groundbreaking collection of original stories, which look beyond the tourist façade to the eerie grandeur and rich decadence of this ever-fascinating metropolis.

Swing

By:

An erotic drama about four sexy couples and one swingers’ club where their fantasies and nightmares collide.

Tehran at Twilight

By:

Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.

USA Noir

Edited by:

The best USA-based stories in the Akashic noir series, compiled into one volume and edited by Johnny Temple!

Forthcoming Titles

The Mastermind

By:

Forthcoming: 4/5/16

Based on a true, ripped-from-the-headlines story, a voyage into the noir heart of present-day Guatemala.

Necropolis

By:

Forthcoming: 6/7/16

A gorgeously written and tightly plotted mystery novel that brings the city of Delhi alive, in ways both enchanting and provocative.

Rio Noir (Brazil)

Edited by:

Forthcoming: 6/7/16

Published right before the 2016 Rio Olympics, Rio Noir will reveal more about this fabled city than news coverage will.

Mississippi Noir

Edited by:

Forthcoming: 8/2/16

Literary crime fiction master Tom Franklin curates this volume of stellar noir from the Deep South.

St. Louis Noir

Edited by:

Forthcoming: 8/2/16

Edited by the best-selling author of The Ice Harvest, St. Louis Noir thickens the Midwest quotient for Akashic’s Noir Series.