Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World
25% off All Books Every Day

Akashic Books

Follow us:

Subject: Mysteries & Crime

Featured Mystery & Crime Titles

Adios Muchachos

Adios Muchachos

By:

More Cuban noir from Akashic! (Following the success of Outcast by José Latour—nominated for Edgar, Anthony and Firecracker awards.)

American Visa

American Visa

By:

Bolivia’s #1 novel is finally translated into English. Translated by Adrian Althoff, with an afterword by Ilan Stavans.

Andean Express

Andean Express

By:

Bolivia’s preeminent fiction writer eclipses the successful English translation of American Visa with a riveting murder mystery. Translated by Adrian Althoff.

BlackLotus_current

Black Lotus

By:

Finding the Black Lotus murderer is Detective Wolf’s chance to avoid an Internal Affairs investigation. That’s when things get personal.

Boston Noir

Boston Noir

Edited by:

There was only ever one candidate for the job of assembling Boston Noir: Dennis Lehane!

Bronx Noir

Bronx Noir

Edited by:

The writers represented in Bronx Noir know the borough so well that, reading the book, you’ll smell it, feel it, see it, hear it.

Download:
BrooklynNoir_current

Brooklyn Noir

Edited by:

New York’s punchiest borough asserts its criminal legacy with all new stories from a magnificent set of today’s best writers.

Download:
Brooklyn Noir 2: The Classics

Brooklyn Noir 2: The Classics

Edited by:

Brooklyn Noir is back with a vengeance, this time with the masters of yore: H.P. Lovecraft, Donald Westlake, Lawrence Block, Pete Hamill, Jonathan Lethem, Colson Whitehead, and more!

Cake

Cake

By:

The highly anticipated second title from Akashic’s groundbreaking street-lit imprint, The Armory, curated by author Kenji Jasper.

Cape Cod Noir

Cape Cod Noir

Edited by:

Malice and mayhem simmer beneath the surface of one of America’s favorite vacation areas.

Chicago Noir

Chicago Noir

Edited by:

This isn’t someone’s dream of Chicago. It’s not even a nightmare. It’s just the real city, unfiltered. Chicago Noir.

Cityside

Cityside

By:

Once one of New York’s most respected investigative reporters, Pulitzer Prize nominee Heffernan takes readers behind the scenes at a major New York newspaper.

The Cocaine Chronicles

The Cocaine Chronicles

Edited by: and

The best fiction anthology of cocaine-themed tales to blow through in years, featuring all-new stories from Susan Straight, Lee Child, Jerry Stahl, Ken Bruen, Laura Lippman, Bill Moody, Nina Revoyr, and many more.

Curse the Names

Curse the Names

By:

Robert Arellano, author of the Edgar-nominated crime novel Havana Lunar, returns with another spine-tingling noir from Akashic Books.

DCNoir

DC Noir

Edited by:

Mystery sensation Pelecanos pens the lead story and edits this groundbreaking collection of stories detailing the seedy underside of the nation’s capital.

The Dead Detective

The Dead Detective

By:

Thirty-year-old homicide detective Harry Doyle—dubbed “The Dead Detective” by his fellow cops after he was murdered and revived at the age of ten—faces his most difficult case: a beautiful murder victim who was a notorious child molester.

DetroitNoir_current

Detroit Noir

Edited by: and

Motor City’s finest literary talents—including Oates, Estleman, Holden, and Parrish—offer a shadowed spectrum of gripping, haunted visions.

The Dewey Decimal System

The Dewey Decimal System

By:

Debut novelist Larson presents the first book in a literary-noir series featuring an obsessive-compulsive protagonist in a ravaged New York City.

Got

Got

By:

The first title from The Armory, a new high-quality urban noir imprint edited by Kenji Jasper.

Haiti Noir

Haiti Noir

Edited by:

Akashic recruits Danticat, one of the truly great contemporary writers, to edit this timely volume featuring stories set both before and after the devastating 2010 earthquake.

Havana Noir

Havana Noir (Cuba)

Edited by:

In the stories of Havana Noir current and former residents of the city uncover crimes of violence and loveless sex, of mental cruelty and greed, of self-preservation and collective hysteria.

Hell's Kitchen

Hell’s Kitchen

By:

Armstead Maupin meets Carl Hiaasen in a brilliant black comedy that traces the paths of disparate characters floating through New York, about to collide in a treacherous story that will make you think twice about ever answering a classified ad.

Heroin Chronicles

The Heroin Chronicles

Edited by:

The latest entry in the Akashic Drug Chronicles Series. Heroin has long been understood as the most “literary” of narcotics, and this collection will, for better and worse, have tremendous pop cultural appeal.

Kansas City Noir

Kansas City Noir

Edited by:

Steve Paul recruits Daniel Woodrell, John Lutz, and others to examine the seedy underbelly of this complex Midwestern city.

Long Island Noir

Long Island Noir

Edited by:

Stories covering Long Island’s extremes, from the comfortably rich to the horribly poor, and all darkness between.

LosAngelesNoir_Current

Los Angeles Noir

Edited by:

Los Angeles Noir brings you tales of crime and passion and betrayal from some of the most innovative and celebrated writers working today.

New Jersey Noir

New Jersey Noir

Edited by:

Jonathan Safran Foer and Robert Pinsky join Joyce Carol Oates and other illustrious writers to explore Jersey noir.

New Orleans Noir

New Orleans Noir

Edited by:

Beneath the glitter of Mardi Gras lies the sleaze of Bourbon Street; under the celestial sounds of JazzFest, the nightmare screams of a city once at war within its neighborhoods, but after Hurricane Katrina, seemingly at war with nature and the rest of the country as well.

Philadelphia Noir

Philadelphia Noir

Edited by:

Philly finally enters the Noir Series arena: the City of Brotherly Love becomes a City of Brotherly Malice.

Phoenix Noir

Phoenix Noir

Edited by:

Lee Child, Diana Gabaldon, James Sallis, and others reveal how the scalding Arizona sun breeds its own unique blend of noir.

Portland Noir

Portland Noir

Edited by:

Explore the dark, rainy underbelly of one of America’s most beautiful but enigmatic cities.

San Francisco Noir

San Francisco Noir

Edited by:

San Francisco Noir lashes out with hard-biting tales exploring the shadowy nether regions of scenic “Baghdad by the Bay.”

Seattle Noir

Seattle Noir

Edited by:

Seattle’s evolution to high-finance and high-tech has provided greater opportunity to those with sinister intent.

SingaporeNoir-current

Singapore Noir

Edited by:

Singapore is exposed in all of its noir glory with scintillating stories from the very best of the city’s authors.

Southland

Southland

By:

Nina Revoyr brings us a compelling story of race, love, murder, and history against the backdrop of Los Angeles.

Download:
Swing_current

Swing

By:

An erotic drama about four sexy couples and one swingers’ club where their fantasies and nightmares collide.

USANOIR_Current

USA Noir

Edited by:

The best USA-based stories in the Akashic noir series, compiled into one volume and edited by Johnny Temple!

WhiteHouse_current

The White House

By:

One house . . . one robbery . . . one mistake . . . sexual intrigue and violence intermingle in this tense urban thriller.

Forthcoming Titles

LuminousHeart-current

The Luminous Heart of Jonah S.

By:

Forthcoming: 10/7/14

Part murder mystery and part family saga, this dramatic and often hilarious novel explores the history of Los Angeles’s Iranian Jewish community.

TehranAtTwilight-current

Tehran at Twilight

By:

Forthcoming: 10/7/14

Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.

Back to Top