Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World
25% off All Books Every Day

Akashic Books

Follow us:

Subject: Mysteries & Crime

Featured Mystery & Crime Titles

Adios Muchachos

Adios Muchachos

By:

More Cuban noir from Akashic! (Following the success of Outcast by José Latour—nominated for Edgar, Anthony and Firecracker awards.)
Andean Express

Andean Express

By:

Bolivia's preeminent fiction writer eclipses the successful English translation of American Visa with a riveting murder mystery. Translated by Adrian Althoff.
Baltimore Noir

Baltimore Noir

Edited by:

Mystery queenpin Lippman and cohorts dissect the urban locale unaffectionately called Bulletmore, in the state of the Union ingloriously labeled Murderland.
BlackLotus_current

Black Lotus

By:

Finding the Black Lotus murderer is Detective Wolf's chance to avoid an Internal Affairs investigation. That's when things get personal.
Boston Noir

Boston Noir

Edited by:

Dennis Lehane steps up to the plate as editor and presents a scintillating collection of deep, dark fiction.
Bronx Noir

Bronx Noir

Edited by:

Best-selling crime writer S.J. Rozan corrals a diverse crew of celebrated authors to highlight the dark magnificence of her native New York City borough.
Download:
BrooklynNoir_current

Brooklyn Noir

Edited by:

New York’s punchiest borough asserts its criminal legacy with all new stories from a magnificent set of today’s best writers.
Download:
Brooklyn Noir 2: The Classics

Brooklyn Noir 2: The Classics

Edited by:

Brooklyn Noir is back with a vengeance, this time with the masters of yore: H.P. Lovecraft, Donald Westlake, Lawrence Block, Pete Hamill, Jonathan Lethem, Colson Whitehead, and more!
Cake

Cake

By:

The highly anticipated second title from Akashic's groundbreaking street-lit imprint, The Armory, curated by author Kenji Jasper.
Cape Cod Noir

Cape Cod Noir

Edited by:

Malice and mayhem simmer beneath the surface of one of America's favorite vacation areas.
Chicago Noir

Chicago Noir

Edited by:

This isn't someone's dream of Chicago. It's not even a nightmare. It's just the real city, unfiltered. Chicago Noir.
Cityside

Cityside

By:

Once one of New York's most respected investigative reporters, Pulitzer Prize nominee Heffernan takes readers behind the scenes at a major New York newspaper.
The Cocaine Chronicles

The Cocaine Chronicles

Edited by: and

The best fiction anthology of cocaine-themed tales to blow through in years, featuring all-new stories from Susan Straight, Lee Child, Jerry Stahl, Ken Bruen, Laura Lippman, Bill Moody, Nina Revoyr, and many more.
Curse the Names

Curse the Names

By:

Robert Arellano, author of the Edgar-nominated crime novel Havana Lunar, returns with another spine-tingling noir from Akashic Books.
DallasNoir_Current

Dallas Noir

Edited by:

Texas's ultimate noir town, where nasty surprises lurk around every turn, reveals its unseemly underbelly.
DCNoir

DC Noir

Edited by:

Mystery sensation Pelecanos pens the lead story and edits this groundbreaking collection of stories detailing the seedy underside of the nation's capital.
DC Noir 2: The Classics

DC Noir 2: The Classics

Edited by:

Pelecanos assembles an enchanting array of dark and subversive stories, following up the best-selling first volume of DC Noir, this time selecting the very best of Washington's historical literary legacy.
The Dead Detective

The Dead Detective

By:

Thirty-year-old homicide detective Harry Doyle—dubbed "The Dead Detective" by his fellow cops after he was murdered and revived at the age of ten—faces his most difficult case: a beautiful murder victim who was a notorious child molester.
DetroitNoir_current

Detroit Noir

Edited by: and

Motor City's finest literary talents—including Oates, Estleman, Holden, and Parrish—offer a shadowed spectrum of gripping, haunted visions.
The Dewey Decimal System

The Dewey Decimal System

By:

Debut novelist Larson presents the first book in a literary-noir series featuring an obsessive-compulsive protagonist in a ravaged New York City.
Got

Got

By:

The first title from The Armory, a new high-quality urban noir imprint edited by Kenji Jasper.
Haiti Noir

Haiti Noir

Edited by:

Akashic recruits Danticat, one of the truly great contemporary writers, to edit this timely volume featuring stories set both before and after the devastating 2010 earthquake.
Havana Noir

Havana Noir (Cuba)

Edited by:

In the stories of Havana Noir, authors uncover crimes of violence and loveless sex, of mental cruelty and greed, of self-preservation and collective hysteria, in a city characterized by ironic and wrenching contradictions.
Hell's Kitchen

Hell’s Kitchen

By:

Armstead Maupin meets Carl Hiaasen in a brilliant black comedy that traces the paths of disparate characters floating through New York, about to collide in a treacherous story that will make you think twice about ever answering a classified ad.
Heroin Chronicles

The Heroin Chronicles

Edited by:

The latest entry in the Akashic Drug Chronicles Series. Heroin has long been understood as the most "literary" of narcotics, and this collection will, for better and worse, have tremendous pop cultural appeal.
Indian Country Noir

Indian Country Noir

Edited by: and

The sharpest, most stylized, and ambitious anthology of Native American literature ever published. Readers enter into a welter of troubled history throughout the Americans where the heritage of violence meets the ferocity of intent.
Kansas City Noir

Kansas City Noir

Edited by:

Steve Paul recruits Daniel Woodrell, John Lutz, and others in Kansas City Noir, where naked ambition meets broken dreams, and blues and the night go together like rye whiskey, vermouth, and bitters.
Long Island Noir

Long Island Noir

Edited by:

Between these covers, Long Island emerges as a region far more complex and sinister than merely a playground for the rich and famous.
LosAngelesNoir_Current

Los Angeles Noir

Edited by:

Los Angeles Noir brings you tales of crime and passion and betrayal from some of the most innovative and celebrated writers working today.
Mumbai Noir

Mumbai Noir (India)

Edited by:

Following the success of Delhi Noir and the film Slumdog Millionaire, Mumbai Noir depicts the many ways in which the city's ever-present shadowy aspects often force themselves onto the lives of ordinary people.
New Jersey Noir

New Jersey Noir

Edited by:

Jonathan Safran Foer and Robert Pinsky join Joyce Carol Oates and other illustrious writers to sift through the hidden dirt of the Garden State.
New Orleans Noir

New Orleans Noir

Edited by:

Beneath the glitter of Mardi Gras lies the sleaze of Bourbon Street; under the celestial sounds of JazzFest, the nightmare screams of a city traumatized long before the storm.
Orange County Noir

Orange County Noir

Edited by:

You may be disturbed—or possibly titillated—to discover what can happen once you cross the Orange Curtain . . .
Philadelphia Noir

Philadelphia Noir

Edited by:

Philly finally enters the Noir Series arena: the City of Brotherly Love becomes a City of Brotherly Malice.
Phoenix Noir

Phoenix Noir

Edited by:

Lee Child, Diana Gabaldon, James Sallis, and others reveal how, in Phoenix, sunshine is the new noir.
Pittsburgh Noir

Pittsburgh Noir

Edited by:

Pittsburgh Noir roars forth, exploring the hidden underworld of what has often been called "the most livable city in America."
Queens Noir

Queens Noir

Edited by:

On the heels of Brooklyn, Manhattan, and the Bronx, the borough of Queens enters the chambers of noir in this riveting collection edited by defense attorney and acclaimed fiction writer Robert Knightly.
Download:
Rome Noir

Rome Noir (Italy)

Edited by: and

Rome provides a fertile setting for this groundbreaking collection of original stories, which look beyond the tourist façade to the eerie grandeur and rich decadence of this ever-fascinating metropolis.
San Francisco Noir

San Francisco Noir

Edited by:

San Francisco Noir lashes out with hard-biting tales exploring the shadowy nether regions of scenic "Baghdad by the Bay."
San Francisco Noir 2: The Classics

San Francisco Noir 2: The Classics

Edited by:

Dashiell Hammett and William Vollmann are just two treats in this stellar sequel to the smash-hit original volume of San Francisco Noir, which captures the dark mythology of a world-class locale.
SingaporeNoir-current

Singapore Noir

Edited by:

Singapore is exposed in all of its noir glory with scintillating stories from the very best of the city's authors.
Southland

Southland

By:

Nina Revoyr brings us a compelling story of race, love, murder, and history against the backdrop of Los Angeles.
Download:
Swing_current

Swing

By:

An erotic drama about four sexy couples and one swingers' club where their fantasies and nightmares collide.
USANOIR_Current

USA Noir

Edited by:

The best USA-based stories in the Akashic noir series, compiled into one volume and edited by Johnny Temple!
WhiteHouse_current

The White House

By:

One house . . . one robbery . . . one mistake . . . sexual intrigue and violence intermingle in this tense urban thriller.

Forthcoming Titles

LuminousHeart-current

The Luminous Heart of Jonah S.

By:

Forthcoming: 10/7/14

Part murder mystery and part family saga, this dramatic and often hilarious novel explores the history of Los Angeles’s Iranian Jewish community.
TehranAtTwilight-current

Tehran at Twilight

By:

Forthcoming: 10/7/14

Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.
HelsinkiNoir-current

Helsinki Noir (Finland)

Edited by:

Forthcoming: 11/4/14

Helsinki Noir joins Copenhagen Noir in representing the Akashic Noir Series in the far north of Europe, exposing its frigid and sometimes frightening confines.
Back to Top