Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World
25% off All Books Every Day

Akashic Books

Follow us:

Subject: Middle East & Asian Interest

The Age of Dreaming

The Age of Dreaming

By:

The Age of Dreaming explores the history of Los Angeles, the heady beginnings of the movie industry, and the interplay of race and celebrity.

AntiCapReader

The Anti-Capitalism Reader

Edited by:

A refreshingly non-doctrinaire anthology of writings and interviews covering much of the intellectual geography of the new anti-market left.

BoyGenius

Boy Genius

By:

Selected for the 2002 Kiriyama Prize Notable Books List & selected as a finalist for an Asian American Literary Award.

Go Fish

Go Fish

By:

The debut collection of Mr. Fish’s searing and hilarious political cartoons, featured in Harper’s, Truthdig, and elsewhere.

Israel vs. Utopia

Israel vs. Utopia

By:

Israeli American journalist Schalit distinguishes between the Israel he knows and the image of it in the minds of Americans.

Jerusalem Calling

Jerusalem Calling

By:

Schalit critically interrogates everything from Middle Eastern politics to the New Economy, from debates in the independent music scene about “selling out” to the current cultural interventions of Jerry Falwell and his followers.

Las Cucarachas

By:

Award-winning author Yongsoo Park presents a powerful coming-of-age story of a young boy on the edges of New York City.

Wingshooters

Wingshooters

By:

Revoyr’s novel examines the effects of change on a small, isolated town, the strengths and limits of community, and the sometimes conflicting loyalties of family and justice.

Forthcoming Titles

SingaporeNoir-current

Singapore Noir

Edited by:

Forthcoming: 6/3/14

Singapore is exposed in all of its noir glory with scintillating stories from the very best of the city’s authors.

LuminousHeart

The Luminous Heart of Jonah S.

By:

Forthcoming: 10/7/14

Part murder mystery and part family saga, this dramatic and often hilarious novel explores the history of Los Angeles’ Iranian Jewish community.

TehranAtTwilight

Tehran at Twilight

By:

Forthcoming: 10/7/14

Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.

Back to Top