Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Subject: Middle East & Asian Interest

The Age of Dreaming


The Age of Dreaming explores the history of Los Angeles, the heady beginnings of the movie industry, and the interplay of race and celebrity.

Boy Genius


Selected for the 2002 Kiriyama Prize Notable Books List & selected as a finalist for an Asian American Literary Award.

Go Fish


The debut collection of Mr. Fish’s searing and hilarious political cartoons, featured in Harper’s, Truthdig, and elsewhere.

Israel vs. Utopia


Israeli American journalist Schalit distinguishes between the Israel he knows and the image of it in the minds of Americans.

Jerusalem Calling


Schalit critically interrogates everything from Middle Eastern politics to the New Economy, from debates in the independent music scene about “selling out” to the current cultural interventions of Jerry Falwell and his followers.

Las Cucarachas


Award-winning author Yongsoo Park presents a powerful coming-of-age story of a young boy on the edges of New York City.

Mumbai Noir (India)

Edited by:

Following the success of Delhi Noir and the film Slumdog Millionaire, Mumbai Noir depicts the many ways in which the city’s ever-present shadowy aspects often force themselves onto the lives of ordinary people.

Native Believer


The long-awaited debut novel from acclaimed author Eteraz; a darkly comic, provocative, and insightful vision of the contemporary American experience.



A gorgeously written and tightly plotted mystery novel that brings the city of Delhi alive, in ways both enchanting and provocative.

South Haven


Grief, violence, and history collide to offer a radical look at childhood and migration in suburban New England.

Tehran at Twilight


Friendship, betrayal, and international intrigue populate this brilliant novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.



Revoyr’s novel examines the effects of change on a small, isolated town, the strengths and limits of community, and the sometimes conflicting loyalties of family and justice.

Forthcoming Titles



Forthcoming: 6/6/17

The unsettling story of a young man who suffers an identity crisis after getting tangled up in a telephone scam.