Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Catalog » Browse by Title: U » An Unkindness of Ghosts

An Unkindness of Ghosts

By:

A breathtaking science fiction debut from a worthy successor to Octavia Butler.

Forthcoming: 10/3/17

$15.95 $11.96 Not Currently Available – Check Back Soon!

What people are saying…

“Infused with the spirit of Octavia Butler and loaded with meaning for the present day, An Unkindness of Ghosts will appeal to a wide variety of readers. Solomon’s impassioned, speculative, literary book is sorely needed on library shelves.”
Booklist

“Immediately immersive and sophisticated . . . This is a phenomenal piece of work.”
—Lee Child, author of the Jack Reacher series

An Unkindness of Ghosts marks the debut of a wildly talented writer. Rivers Solomon has put together a heady science-fiction novel that speaks directly to some of the most pressing political and social concerns of the modern day. And yet for all that it remains deeply humane, and it’s even quite funny at times. This is a book you’ll want to read now so you can tell your friends you read it first.”
—Victor LaValle, author of The Changeling

“Welcome to the Tarlands aboard the space vessel HSS Matilda—home of the poor and rejected—and the setting of Rivers Solomon’s powerful debut novel. Imaginative in the vein of Colson Whitehead, Samuel R. Delany, and Octavia E. Butler, this novel explores the struggles of slum dwellers aboard a spacecraft sadly reminiscent of our own world: rife with poverty, caste, and discrimination as told through the Looking Glass. With outstanding world-building and an unforgettable protagonist in Aster, An Unkindness of Ghosts is a notable debut by an author whose work I look forward to reading for years to come.”
—Tananarive Due, author of The Living Blood and Ghost Summer

“The HSS Matilda is a generation ship organized much like the antebellum South. Embroiled in a grudge with a brutal overseer and sowing the seeds of civil war, sharecropper Aster learns there may be a way off the ship if she’s willing to fight for it.”
Publishers Weekly


Description

Odd-mannered, obsessive, withdrawn, Aster has little to offer folks in the way of rebuttal when they call her ogre and freak. She’s used to the names; she only wishes there was more truth to them. If she were truly a monster, as they accuse, she’d be powerful enough to tear down the walls around her until nothing remained of her world, save for stories told around the cookfire.

Aster lives in the low-deck slums of the HSS Matilda, a space vessel organized much like the antebellum South. For generations, the Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land. On its way, the ship’s leaders have imposed harsh moral restrictions and deep indignities on dark-skinned sharecroppers like Aster, who they consider to be less than human.

When the autopsy of Matilda’s sovereign reveals a surprising link between his death and her mother’s suicide some quarter-century before, Aster retraces her mother’s footsteps. Embroiled in a grudge with a brutal overseer and sewing the seeds of civil war, Aster learns there may be a way off the ship if she’s willing to fight for it.

An Unkindness of Ghosts will appeal to a broad audience, including fans of books such as The Magicians by Lev Grossman, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Cold Magic by Kate Elliott, The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman, The Intuitionist by Colson Whitehead, and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.


Extras


Book Details

  • Paperback: 340 pages
  • Published: 10/3/17
  • IBSN: 9781617755880
  • e-IBSN: 9781617755996

Author

RIVERS SOLOMON graduated from Stanford University with a degree in comparative studies in race and ethnicity and holds an MFA in fiction writing from the Michener Center for Writers. Though originally from the United States, they currently live in Cambridge, England, with their family. An Unkindness of Ghosts is their debut novel.

More info »



You might be interested in: