Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Catalog » Browse by Title: T » To Funk and Die in LA

To Funk and Die in LA

By:

Ex-bodyguard D Hunter is swept into the City of Angels on a dark mission to find his mysterious grandfather’s killer

Forthcoming: 9/5/17

$15.95 $11.96 Not Currently Available – Check Back Soon!

What people are saying…

To Funk and Die in LA is a supercharged spin through the dynamic, ever-changing neighborhoods of urban LA. Nelson George’s new book is full of music, secrets, heart, and more than a little heartbreak.”
Nina Revoyr, author of Southland

“Inventive and well-written . . . I really enjoyed To Funk and Die in LA.”
—Don Winslow, author of Savages

Praise for the D Hunter Series:

“D Hunter is as world weary, yet steadfast, as Philip Marlowe, Spenser, Dave Robicheaux, or Easy Rawlins.”
Library Journal (starred review, Pick of the Month)

“Written in the spirit of authors such as Walter Mosley and Donald Goines . . . The book blends music from the past with thug appeal of the present to appeal to young and old alike.”
Baltimore Times, on The Lost Treasures of R&B


Description

To Funk and Die in LA, the fourth book in the D Hunter crime-fiction series, brings the ex-bodyguard to the City of Angels on a stand-alone mission when his grandfather, businessman Daniel “Big Danny” Hunter, is shot dead in a drive-by. Why would someone execute a grocery store owner? D soon finds there was more to Big Danny’s life than selling loaves of bread. The old man, it turns out, was deeply involved with Dr. Funk, a legendary musical innovator who has become a mysterious recluse.

Most of the novel takes place in the LA neighborhoods of Crenshaw, Koreatown, and Pico-Union—areas where black, Asian, and Latino cultures intersect away from the glamour of Hollywood—and echoes of the 1992 riots play a significant role in D’s investigation. In the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Walter Mosley, D Hunter rides through the mean streets of Los Angeles seeking truth and not always finding justice.


Book Details

  • Paperback: 280 pages
  • Published: 9/5/17
  • IBSN: 9781617755866
  • e-IBSN: 9781617756023
  • Hardcover
  • IBSN: 9781617755859

Author

NELSON GEORGE is an author and filmmaker with a passion for black American culture. He has written the music histories The Death of Rhythm & Blues and Hip Hop America, directed the documentaries Finding the Funk and A Ballerina’s Tale, and is a supervising producer of The Get Down on Netflix. His novels include the first three in his D Hunter mystery series, The Accidental Hunter, The Plot Against Hip Hop, and The Lost Treasures of R&B. He is a lifelong resident of Brooklyn, New York. To Funk and Die in LA is his latest novel.

More info »



You might be interested in: