Reverse-Gentrification of the Literary World

Akashic Books

||| |||

Events » United States » Maine » Bangor » J.L. Powers and M.A. Powers – The Briar Patch, Bangor, ME

Events » October 2017 » J.L. Powers and M.A. Powers – The Briar Patch, Bangor, ME

J.L. Powers and M.A. Powers – The Briar Patch, Bangor, ME

With: and

Join Wonder Twin “powers activate” dynamic duo J.L. and M.A. Powers, the siblings who co-wrote Broken Circle, for our book launch party. In Broken Circle, 15 year old Adam confronts his fears of mortality when he learns, to his complete and utter surprise and mortification, that he’s slated to be the next Grim Reaper. In this American fairy tale, Adam is headed towards a collision with life, death, and the entities charged with shepherding souls of the newly dead, all competing to control lucrative territories where some nightmares are real and psychopomps of ancient legends walk the streets of North America.

Kirkus Reviews called it “a gripping, philosophical paranormal thriller.” School Library Journal says it’s a must-read for fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare, while Jilleen More claims fans of the Sookie Stackhouse novels and the Mortal Instruments series will find this book “a tight competitor for the new most addictive paranormal read.

Free Admission.



Featured: Black Interest